links for 2009-07-12

July 13, 2009
  • <blockquote>No one warned me I’d miss my oncology nurses, the radiation techs, and the feeling of safety I got from the routine of cancer treatments. But I did. I seemed to cruise through that part but then came year two. It was really hard. I didn’t go back to a full-time career or kids, just a loving husband who had taken such good care of me–even read to me at night. I floated aimlessly around–with a lot less money and confidence than I once had. I couldn’t focus or get things done. I even read and reread the same books over and over again. (I know Harry Potter really well.) I missed the closeness with my husband and the amazing clarity and gratitude I’d found in the mundane.</blockquote>
Leave a Reply

