links for 2010-04-21

April 22, 2010
  • How do you decide which Windows XP updates to install and which *not*
    to install.
    <br>
    The error was missing or corrupt ntoskrnl.exe.
    <br>
    I tried a repair reinstall of Windows. That didn't work.
    <br>
    Then I did a complete reinstall. That worked, but of course I lost all
    my installed applications.
    <br>
    (Before I did any of the installs I used my Wubi Ubuntu install to
    copy the complete disk contents to an external disk)
    <br>
    I installed Chrome and Firefox and a few other things and then shut
    the machine down for the night. It had 70 or so updates to install and
    I went ahead and let them install.
    <br>
    The next morning I got exactly the same missing or corrupt ntoskrnl.exe error.
    <br>
    I used Linux for about a week.
    <br>
    Tonight I finally decided to look into it again. I found a Youtube
    video describing how to replace ntoskrnl.exe from the XP CD (
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j69K9H87j2s )
    <br>
    cd windowssystem32
    expand e:i386ntoskrnl.ex_
    <br>
    And here I am.
Leave a Reply

